DIY Christmas Wreath for $15!

First, I love Christmas. It’s absolutely my favorite holiday. Family, gifts, delicious food, Christmas music, all the lights, and of course, glitter everywhere!

Needless to say, I love decorating for Christmas. The house is so much cozier and I automatically like you if you have a wreath on your door. There are some beautiful wreaths out there, but a lot of times, you pay dearly for it. I made this wreath this year and I love it so much more than anything I could’ve bought!

DIY wreath for $15!
DIY wreath for $15!

Now to start, you have to choose your theme. There are so many to choose from that sometimes it’s hard. I stuck with the theme I have on my tree which is mostly neutrals, gold, white, and of course green. Make sure to measure your door if that’s where you’ll hang it. I’ve made the mistake of a wreath that was too small, and also a wreath that was too big. Trust me, you want a happy medium.

Then it’s off to the store. I went to Hobby Lobby and found everything I needed in one stop! In order to do this on a $15 budget though, you’ll have to get it on sale. The best time is right after Christmas, HOWEVER, I hit the jackpot and got all my stuff a couple of weeks ago when Hobby Lobby was having a 50% off all Christmas decor sale…I went a little crazy. I spent more than $15 but all together, what I used on my wreath was about $15.

I digress.

So, you’ve bought your theme-consistent supplies at a discounted rate and you’re ready to go. I’ve found it’s a good idea to stick with odd numbers of each item, but it’s really just what you think looks good in the end.

When you’re buying, make sure to choose your focal point. Like on mine I used the burlap poinsettias. You can use whatever tickles your fancy or even a grouping of a few different things, but I think something that anchors it always ends up looking the best.

After your wreath is sufficiently fluffed, lay all your items out next to it and just start placing. I started with my focal-point-poinsettias and worked my way around the wreath with everything else. No gluing yet! You’ll put things in and take them out and add and take away until you get it right. There’s really no rhyme or reason to this part, just make sure things are facing the way you want them to face and fitting where you want them to fit.

Once you’ve got everything placed where you like it, then it’s time to add your ribbon. It just weaves in and out and around your items and you can bend some of the wreath branches around it in places that you want it secured. It can change direction and make “Vs” and go wherever it goes, but I do actually wrap it around the wreath. Seems easier than cutting and gluing each piece you see.

Now it’s time to fire up your glue gun. Hot glue is perfect for stuff like this because it’s very secure, but also very forgiving. Glue your ribbon on the back of the wreath at the beginning and the end. No need to glue it in between unless there’s somewhere you need it secure that you don’t have it tucked into a branch. Then glue all your items one at a time all the way around. If you glue something in the wrong place, you can just rip it off and glue it again. I did that a lot and you can’t even tell! Just be careful not to rip a bald spot on your wreath where it will show, but even if you do, you can cover it with something. Like I said…very forgiving. If you have any floppy parts on your items, glue those down so they stay put. I glue my focal point last because it’s the biggest and I want it on top of whatever is around it.

Done! Easy! And cheap!

You may need more than one hook to hang it on your door depending on how heavy it is. I started with just a suction cup hook and it fell after a few hours, so now I have one suction cup and two command hooks holding mine and it’s held up fine!

Yay Christmas!

Christmas at the Olivers
Christmas at the Olivers
3 thoughts on “DIY Christmas Wreath for $15!

Leave a Reply

