Accidentally Amazing Chocolate Cookies

Ok…cards on the table…these were supposed to be chocolate chip cookies. However, through a series of mistakes, they turned into these deliciously sweet and salty chocolate cookies. They were fantastic! I doubled my recipe and they were all gone at the end of the night, so I’m calling it a win.

Every year our little town has a Christmas parade. Ours was last night and my husband’s office is right off of the main street where the parade runs, so they decided to open their doors and offer hot chocolate to the parade attendees. I volunteered to bring cookies, and I thought, “What better to go with hot chocolate than good old-fashioned chocolate chip cookies?” These. These were.

Here’s everything you’ll need.

image

First, you’ll mix the flour, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl. Easy peasy.

image

Then, you’ll brown your butter. Put the butter in your saucepan on medium heat and cook it down for a few minutes. It will bubble and condense and when it’s ready, there will be little brown bits on the sides if the pan. The butter will turn a kind of amber color and in the middle, it will froth up so much that you can’t see all the brown bits in the bottom, but they’re there. I had never done this before. It’s very easy, but it takes several minutes. I doubled my recipe, and my large saucepan was dirty so I used my medium saucepan and there were 4 sticks of butter in there, so it probably took longer than it had to. Either way, this process takes a little patience. Also, watch it closely. You don’t want it to go too far. Here’s what it should look like.

image

Once it looks like this, remove it from the heat. Then you’ll mix it in your mixer with the brown and white sugar until it’s all combined. Then add your egg, yolk, vanilla, and sour cream, and gradually add your flour mixture.

Once it’s all mixed in, it should look like this:

image

Ok. Up to this point, everything was running smoothly. No mistakes. Then I did two things at once that changed the course of these cookies forever. I added the chocolate chips while the batter was still warm, and, because I was feeling lazy, I dumped them in and used the mixer instead of carefully folding them in like I was supposed to…so they melted.

Welp…No going back.

I was faced with a decision. I either keep going and hope for the best, or scrap the whole thing and start over. I had already invested in these cookies, so I decided, I’ll push through, and if it’s really an epic fail, I can always buy cookies at the store. So I rolled with it.

The next step in the recipe calls to refrigerate the dough, so I chunked the bowl in my fridge and headed off to have dinner with friends. Not a care in the world. When I got home to bake the cookies, the molten chocolate chips had hardened into the batter and the whole mixture was totally solid…Ugh…Store bought cookies here I come…

Then I think, “it will probably soften now that it’s out of the fridge…I wonder if this bowl will fit in my microwave…”

It did. So. I microwaved my hardened cookie dough.

Don’t do that.

If you’re making these as intentionally chocolate cookies. Either skip the refrigerator step, or let them sit on the counter for about 36 mins after taking them out of the fridge before you start scooping and baking.

It look me a couple of batches to get these cookies exactly right. The first batch was my microwaved dough batch. They actually turned out ok, but I had to really roll them and squeeze them and roll them and squeeze them into the balls before baking. But they tasted fine.

The second batch was under the microwaved layer and the dough had softened enough for me to scoop as usual so I did. The problem with these is that they were taller and didn’t fall like I thought they would and because of the color of the chocolate dough, it was hard to tell if they were done baking so I left them in way longer than they really needed to go.

By the third batch, I had it figured out. Scoop and flatten on the baking sheet. And disregard the color. It doesn’t change. Ten minutes on each batch and they came out perfect.

Side note: if you don’t have one of these scoops, get one immediately! I have the small and medium scoop from Pampered Chef. I used medium for this recipe. They’ve changed my life. Get some!

image

Sprinkle with kosher salt immediately after baking and set on wire racks to cool. Do NOT skip the salt. It totally makes these cookies. Trust me.

When they’re done, this is what they look like.

image
Accidentally Amazing Chocolate Cookies!

Learn from my mistakes and make these delicious cookies! Like I said, I doubled my recipe and made probably 30-40 cookies and they were all gone! Accidentally Amazing Chocolate Cookies!

~Recipe~

INGREDIENTS:
-2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
-1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
-1/4 teaspoon salt
-2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter,
browned
-1 1/4 cup dark brown sugar, packed
-1/4 cup granulated sugar
-1 large egg, and 1 yolk
-1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
-1 tablespoon sour cream
-1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
-kosher salt

INSTRUCTIONS:
-In a large bowl, mix flour, baking soda, and salt.
-Brown butter on medium heat until brown bits begin to appear and the color of the butter turns amber.
-Mix butter in the bowl of a stand mixer with sugars until combined. Then add egg, yolk, vanilla, and sour cream.
-Gradually add in flour mixture.
-While batter is still warm from the browned butter, add the chocolate chips and mix with the mixer until chocolates have melted and combined with the batter.
-Refrigerate for 2 hours, then remove from refrigerator 30-40 minutes prior to baking cookies.
-Preheat oven to 350 F. Scoop and flatten small balls of dough and space them 2 inches apart on a parchment paper or foil lined baking sheet. Bake for 9-11 minutes.
-Sprinkle immediately with kosher salt and place on wire racks to cool.

Recipe adapted from: thebitesizedbaker.com

One thought on “Accidentally Amazing Chocolate Cookies

Leave a Reply

